First Brazilian Congress on Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (I CBRATEC)

The Brazilian Association for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry, ABRATEC, held its first congress (I CBRATEC) at the Palace Casino in Poços de Caldas, Minas Gerais, Brazil, from March 29, to April 2,1998. The conference was attended by approximately 170 persons from all over Brazil and by 11 foreign scientists. Interestingly, the number of students at this meeting was quite significant, with many technical talks given by them. 45 papers were presented, and over 100 posters were displayed in the poster session. A Thermal Analysis instrumentation tutorial was offered at the opening of each four day's activities. An instrument exhibit was held, with five vendors presenting literature and instrument displays.

Donald Burlett, acting as an ambassador from NATAS, joined Lázaro Moscardini D'Assunção, President of ABRATEC, in the opening ceremonies. Don offered greetings from NATAS and presented a plaque commemorating the occasion. Additionally, NATAS presented gifts for ABRATEC, two sets of books. It was suggested that these gifts be used as prizes for future 'Best Student Paper' competitions. It was also suggested that the award be named after Professor Ivo Giolito, one of the founding fathers of thermal analysis in Brazil. These suggestions were warmly received and subsequently approved by the ABRATEC board.

During the conference, plenary lectures were provided by:

Mietek Jaroniec, Kent State University, USA:

'Application of thermogravimetry for studying nonporous materials';

Csaba Novák, Technical University of Budapest, Hungary

'Thermal analysis in the pharmaceutical field: thermoanalytical behaviour of cyclodextrins and inclusion complexes';

Donald J. Burlett, Goodyear Tire & Rubber, USA:

'Thermal analysis and calorimetry of elastomers';

Alan Riga, Cleveland State University, USA:

'Practical applications of thermal analysis in lubricant technology'.

ABRATEC currently has 140 members; the governing body has four board members from the academic world, and three from industry. Elections were held before and during the congress, and the provisional officers installed before the meeting were re-elected to office.

The officers and board are as follows:

President: Lazaro Moscardini D'Assunção, Alfenas Pharmacy and Odontology College; Vice-President: Valter Jose Fernandes Jr., Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte; Secretary: Maria Luisa Aleixo Goncalves, Research and Development Center of PETRO-BRAS;

Treasurer: Jivaldo do Rosário Matos, University of São Paulo;

Councillors: Antônio Gouveia de Sousa, Federal University of Paraíba;

João Yazaki Mesquita, NETZSCH do Brasil;

Pierre A. Ruprecht, MICRONAL.

Professor V. J. Fernandes Jr.

Guest Editor

Acknowledgements

The Guest Editor wishes to express his sincere thanks to the Referees listed below. Their excellent work has contributed much to the scientific level.

Canevarollo, S., Federal University of São Carlos, Brazil
Dweck, J., Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Gouveia de Souza, A., Federal University of Paraíba, Brazil
Massao Ionashiro – State University of São Paulo, Brazil
Macêdo, R. O., Federal University of Paraíba, Brazil
do Rosário Matos, J., University of São Paulo, Brazil
Souza de Araujo, A., Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Várhelyi, Cs., University of Cluj, Romania
Vicentini, G., IQUSP, São Paulo, Brazil
Yoshio Kawano – University of São Paulo, Brazil
Zsakó, J., University of Cluj, Romania